Chocolate and Raspberry Brownies

25 Apr

I know that I’ve used raspberries in a ridiculous amount of recipes over the past few months, but after seeing the latest cover of BBC Good Food magazine, I couldn’t resist this one …

I seriously couldn’t pass them up.

…except, well, I’m too cheap/forgetful to actually buy the magazine to use the recipe (whoops!). So, I ended up adapting a recipe in Marian Keyes’ Saved by Cake cookbook, which I hadn’t had a chance to use yet.

And let me tell you, these are gorgeous. Moist, chocolatey goodness with just the right amount of gooeyness-to-cakeyness ratio and a tart, raspberry tang to balance it all out. I don’t know what it is about them, but these brownies are that little bit more grown up than the originals…maybe it’s the addition of one of your five fruits a day which make them more justifiable? Whatever it is, you need these in your life. Immediately.

So, without further ado (I mean, y0ur taste buds must be quivering in excitement. It’d be positively offensive for me to make them wait!), I give you…

CHOCOLATE & RASPBERRY BROWNIES

200g dark chocolate, roughly chopped

225g butter

2 eggs

2 egg yolks

200g soft brown sugar

170g plain flour

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

pinch of salt

150g raspberries

MAKES APPROX. 16

1. Heavily grease and/or line a 20cm (8in) square cake tin (I couldn’t find a square one in the cupboard, so I had to settle for a round one…you can do this if you have to!) and preheat the oven to 160 degrees Celsius (that’s 325 Fahrenheit or Gas Mark 3).

2. Melt the chocolate and butter together, either using the microwave (heating in 30 second blocks and stirring between each block of time) or in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. It should be lovely, smooth and glossy once it’s melted.

3. In  a large mixing bowl, beat together the eggs, egg yolks and brown sugar until they come together and the mixture is golden brown.

4. Now add the melted chocolate to the egg and sugar mixture, stirring gently until combined.

5. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder and then pour into the chocolate mixture.

6. Gently fold the flour into the chocolate until just combined, making sure that there are no flour pockets hiding in the mixture.

7. Add the raspberries and fold them very gently through the brownie mixture and pour the mixture into the tin.

8. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes, then remove the tin from the oven and place it on a wire rack to cool for an hour or two before turning the brownies out onto a board. I cut the edges off mine to square it out into a normal brownie shape.

Enjoy! x

4 Responses to “Chocolate and Raspberry Brownies”

  1. Taz April 25, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    yes jess yes! I WILL make these!

  2. Miss Tilly December 15, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    Hello, just wondering where you got your beautiful measuring spoons from? They are georgeous!

    • Jess - cloudberrydreams January 19, 2015 at 7:23 pm #

      Sadly those spoons are my Mother-in-Law’s, so I’ve no idea where they’re from (though I’d quite like to steal them for myself, haha!)

Leave a Reply

