Quick Christmas Shortbread

10 Dec

December is one of my favourite months of the year, mostly for one reason: Christmas baking.

This is my first Christmas baking session of the season, and I’m extremely happy with the results. The perfect shortbread has always eluded me; I’ve made shortbread which is okay, but it’s generally a bit of a battle to get a decent final result. The dough is either too wet and sticks to the kitchen bench or too crumbly and falls apart whenever I try to roll it out. On Wednesday, though, I was given a quick and easy – possibly failsafe – recipe, and I’m very excited about it.

The recipe itself came courtesy of my lovely friend Lauren, who has been making it with her mother for years. The original recipe came from one of her grandmother’s old friends and has become the family favourite. This shortbread’s popularity isn’t surprising in the least; the dough itself is simple, fast and straightforward to make while the end result is crisp, melt-in-the-mouth buttery awesomeness. Try it. Seriously. You won’t regret it.

QUICK CHRISTMAS SHORTBREAD

225g butter, softened

3/4 cup caster sugar

1/2 cup cornflour

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups plain flour

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius (350 Fahrenheit/Gas Mark 4) and line three baking trays with greaseproof baking paper.

Cream the butter and sugar with an electric mixer for 2 – 3 minutes, until light and creamy in colour.

Sift together flour, cornflour and salt in a separate bowl and add to the creamed butter, mixing with a spoon to combine and then knead well to form a soft dough. The dough should be soft to touch but not sticky.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough to approximately 1.25cm (1/2 inch) thickness (you may like to split the dough into quarters and roll each quarter separately to make it easier to work with) and cut out shapes with cookie cutters – I used a star cutter and a Christmas tree cutter.

Place cookie cut-outs on the lined trays and bake for 25 minutes (start checking after 18 – 20 minutes, though) until the shortbread is a light fawn colour.

Happy baking!

7 Responses to “Quick Christmas Shortbread”

  1. stablestar April 18, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    Hello Jess, i would like to have a go at this shortbread so that by Christmas time i am familiar with the procedure. The recipe is fairly straightforward. A few questions (and please bear with me if some more follow) are what is 225g as in a cup or tablespoon measurement? My cup only features the oz and mls measurements. Can i cream the butter by hand if i haven’t got an electric mixer? Should i grease the trays, lightly or otherwise before placing into the oven? When do i preheat the oven?

    • Jess - cloudberrydreams April 25, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

      Hello!

      I am so, SO sorry about the ridiculous lateness of this reply! For some reason I didn’t get an email notification about it!

      1. 225g butter = 1 U.S cup measurement (which is 240mL). Otherwise, 225g butter = 8oz.

      2. You most certainly can cream butter by hand! It’ll take a bit longer, but it’ll be fine. Just let it come to room temperature, cut it into cubes and beat it with a wooden spoon until it’s light in colour and fluffy.

      3. I didn’t grease my trays because I used non-stick baking paper to line them, but if you don’t have any on hand then I’d definitely lightly grease them so that the cookies don’t stick.

      4. Preheat your oven right at the start, before you start cooking. I usually line/grease my trays at the same time to get it out of the way!

      Hope that’s helpful. I’m so, so sorry again for the late response! 😦 xx

      • stablestar April 27, 2012 at 11:25 am #

        Thank you. That is very helpful. About the lateness of the reply, do not worry! I still would have replied to one of your more recent posts and asked that you check my query on this post. As i said, i hope to make these towards the end of the year, whenever i do though, i will correspond to let you know the progress. Thanks again !

      • Jess - cloudberrydreams April 27, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

        Excellent! You’re very welcome! 🙂 x

  2. stablestar May 2, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    Hi Jess, many many thanks for sharing that wonderful recipe. I managed to make the shortbread yesterday as it was a holiday, and guess what? It is simply divine. It is REAL shortbread. I always loved shortbread but i never even thought that i could ever get to make it. It is buttery, crunchy and very delicious. Everyone should have a go at this. Many thanks again. You may check this link (http://www.flickr.com/photos/77806457@N04) out for photos of what it looks like. I have to make it soon again. I made eighteen cookies – all absolutely scrumptous ! Gotta love bakebakebake ❤

  3. stablestar May 4, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Thanks ! xx

Leave a Reply

