Triple Choc-Chip & Peanut Cookies

18 Nov

My husband and I are still house sitting for my dad, which means that I have plenty of time to bake at any time of the day or night – bliss! (Hey, it’s the small things…). Woo hoo!

Today has been the first semi-hot day of the season – only about 35 degrees Celsius (or 93 Fahrenheit), but you know how that first hot day in late spring pretty much knocks you for six? Well, that’s what today has been like, so cranking up the temperature on the oven probably wasn’t the best idea when it came to keeping the house cool…but we did end up with a nice big batch of cookies, so it was worth the added heat!

This is actually the first time in years that I’ve deviated even slightly from my usual choc-chip cookie recipe, but I couldn’t help it. My dad has a massive container full of peanuts in the cupboard, and they’ve been calling to me. So, here we are:  Triple Choc-Chip & Peanut Cookies!

I know that you probably have a favourite choc-chip cookie recipe which you’re reluctant to part with, but if you want a bit of a change, give this one a go. They’ve already been given the thumbs up from The Official Taste Tester (AKA my husband), and I’m quite pleased with them overall. I wouldn’t make the peanut addition a permanent feature, but it’s really wonderful when you’re looking for a tasty change.

I’m actually not 100% sure where the basic recipe came from originally. It’s written on an ingredient-stained, crumpled scrap of paper that has been sitting in my mum’s recipe folder for as long as I can remember…so credit goes to her on this one!

TRIPLE CHOC-CHIP & PEANUT COOKIES

150g unsalted butter, softened

1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

A pinch of cinnamon

1 egg

1 3/4 cups plain flour, sifted

1/3 cup white chocolate chips

1/2 cup milk chocolate chips

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

1/2 cup salted peanuts, roughly chopped

1 – 3 tablespoons milk (optional)

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees Celsius (325 Fahrenheit or Gas Mark 3) and line 3 baking trays with greaseproof baking paper.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and brown sugar for 2 – 3 minutes until light and creamy. Add the vanilla extract and the egg and beat well. Sprinkle in a pinch of cinnamon and mix to combine.

Add the plain flour and mix gently until just combined. Pour chocolate chips and peanuts over the dough and fold through.

If your dough is too thick add some milk, a tablespoon at a time, until the dough becomes soft and slightly sticky. Spoon heaped tablespoons of mixture onto the baking trays, pressing each cookie down lightly with your fingertips to flatten.

Bake for 8 – 10 minutes if you like soft-centred cookies, or bake for 10 – 13 minutes if you like your cookies to have more of a crunch. Cookies should be lightly browned when cooked.

Leave to cool on the baking tray for 5 minutes then transfer to a wire cooling rack and allow to cool to room temperature.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Triple Choc-Chip & Peanut Cookies”

  1. Jessica November 23, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Wow I am so glad I found your blog! You know, it’s quite refreshing seeing Australian ingredients on someone else’s blog (I don’t know why, it just is :P) This honestly made my tummy RUMBLE!! I will need to try this soon 🙂

    • Jess - cloudberrydreams November 23, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

      Thank you so much! I know what you mean though, I love finding Australian blogs (and I LOVE yours, by the way!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

