Buttercream & Birthdays

10 Oct

October is a pretty crazy month ’round these parts. It’s my husband’s birthday on the 11th, my birthday on the 13th, my mother-in-law’s birthday on the 15th and my sister’s birthday on the 24th…and that’s leaving out about a million aunts/uncles/cousins/grandparents/etc who are also born in October. Something in the water, eh?

So, as it’s my husband’s birthday tomorrow (!), I thought I’d kick off the celebrations with the first birthday cake of the month.

And so, without further ado: a fitting cake for my lovely, adorably geeky gamer husband:

Mario! Do ignore my slightly out of focus camera work. My photography skills are pretty much non-existent.

It’s Nigella Lawson’s Chocolate Fudge Cake, and Mario is a buttercream transfer. It was the first time I’d ever attempted a transfer, and it really was ridiculously easy. Time consuming – it took me around an hour (plus two hours of freezing time) to do it, but that’s also due to me working at a ludicrously slow pace because I was so scared of  ruining it! – but simple. I made the transfer before I’d even made the cake so it could freeze while I baked.

Here’s Nigella’s recipe (very slightly adapted – though I do wish I could take credit for the entire thing!):

CAKE:

400g plain flour

250g caster (superfine) sugar

100g dark brown sugar

50g cocoa powder

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 eggs

140ml sour cream

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

175g unsalted butter, melted and cooled

125ml canola oil

300ml chilled water

FUDGE ICING:

175g dark chocolate

250g  butter, softened

275g icing (powdered) sugar, sifted

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celsius (that’s Gas Mark 4 or 350 degrees fahrenheit for all you non-Australians!)

2. Grease and line two 20 centimetre round cake tins.

3. Put the flour, sugars, cocoa, baking powder, bicarb soda and salt in a large bowl and mix to combine. In another smaller bowl, place the eggs, sour cream and vanilla extract and whisk together. Using an electric mixer (I like my big stand mixer, but hand-held would also work just as well), beat the melted butter and the canola oil until just combined, then beat in the water. Turn the mixer speed to low and add the dry ingredients all in one go. Then add the egg mixture, mix again (still on low speed) until everything is blended. Pour the mixture into your greased and lined tins.

4. Bake the cakes for 50-55 minutes (though this depends hugely on your oven; mine were done in 45 minutes), testing with a skewer to check that they’re done. When the cakes are ready, remove them from the oven and allow them to cool in their tins for 15 minutes before you turn them onto a wire cake rack and allow them to cool completely.

5. FOR THE ICING, melt the chocolate in a metal or Pyrex bowl sitting over a saucepan of simmering water, stirring constantly and making sure that the bowl is never touching the water. When melted, remove from the heat and leave the chocolate to cool for a couple of minutes.

6. Grab your electric mixer again (after giving it and its bowl a quick clean) and beat the softened butter until it becomes light in colour and has a creamy consistency. Add the sieved icing sugar  to the butter mixture beat it again until it gets light and fluffy. Add the vanilla and the melted chocolate and beat on high for a minute or so, until the mixture is thick and glossy (it should be of a spreadable consistency).

7. Use about a quarter to one third of the fudge icing to sandwich the two cakes together, then use the remaining frosting to cover the top and sides of the cakes. Don’t bother trying to make the icing look perfect – this kind of frosting begs to be slapped on unevenly.

8. Transfer to a pretty cake stand, and voila! Done and dusted.

Now, the real question is whether I have enough self control to save it for tomorrow…

4 Responses to “Buttercream & Birthdays”

  1. Faye October 13, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    I came from the bakebakebake community. What a lovey cake!! I hope your husband enjoyed it!

    • cloudberrydreams October 13, 2011 at 10:55 am #

      Thank you so much! He definitely liked it – it’s almost all gone! 🙂

  2. Hannah (BitterSweet) October 15, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Wow, that is incredible! I have absolutely no talent for decorating cakes, so I have huge respect for anyone who does. Bravo!

    • cloudberrydreams October 16, 2011 at 12:25 am #

      Thank you so much! Your blog and your cooking are both so gorgeous, it means a lot that you even came to read! 🙂

Leave a Reply

