Spring has sprung!

17 Sep

This morning I was very excited. All week I’ve been drooling over innumerable tutorial videos on youtube showing how to make roses out of buttercream, and earlier today, while searching through the big box of baking equipment which lives under my bed, I discovered this:Wilton 104 piping tip

I had no idea I owned this. Apparently it came with a set of variously sized piping tips which I bought on a whim last year (and only because the set was oh-my-god-so-cheap-that-I-cannot-possibly-avoid-buying-it), and it’s the very tip needed to create the rose cupcakes that I’ve been falling in love with all week.

Cut to me racing into the kitchen to bake cupcakes as fast as I possibly could just so that I could try using the tip. I’m not going to lie; I totally used a packet cake mix for these cupcakes. Homebrand, 99 cent vanilla muffin mixture, to be precise. There is NO SHAME in using a packet mix, especially if you’re planning to spend the next zillion hours trying to frost the damn things. Today it was all about the icing.

I didn’t bother taking pictures of the packet mix, because…well, it’s a packet mix. Nothing very special or exciting there. The only thing I did take a photo of was the filled cupcake cases, just to give a basic idea of how much mixture to put into each case. It took me so long to figure out the balance between over and under filling the damn things, so I’m happy to share!

Raw mixture
Mmmm…packety.

And here is the final result. I spent a good thirty minutes cursing the piping tip until I finally got the hang of it. I’m pretty happy with them, considering they’re a first attempt!

Rose Cupcakes

Rose Cupcakes 2

Puppeh

And a very hopeful puppy dog.

If you want a great demonstration of how to make these babies, I’d suggest that you head here (though I must add, I just piped the roses straight onto the cupcakes. Why make things more complicated than they need to be?):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7gvetgdNnw&feature=related

4 Responses to “Spring has sprung!”

  1. refrigerator repair September 27, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

    • cloudberrydreams September 30, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      Thank you so much! It was a bit nerve wracking doing the first post, so just knowing that someone read and enjoyed it means a lot!

  2. Larue Civil September 30, 2011 at 1:01 am #

    “If you press me to say why I loved him, I can say no more than because he was he, and I was I.” ~ Michel de Montaigne

Leave a Reply

