Banana & Mango “Ice Cream”

4 Jan

Between the insanity that was Christmas and the craziness leading up to New Year’s Eve, I’ve hardly had time to post. Things have been very busy in our part of the world; The Husband and I are officially moving to the UK on 25th January, so you can imagine how hectic things have been for us. To top it all off, it’s been disgustingly hot. The temperature hit 40 degrees Celsius (that’s around 105 Fahrenheit) the day before yesterday, and the entire city has been sweltering. It’s been way too hot to even think of turning on the oven.

Needless to say, I’ve had a massive craving for ice cream during the heatwave. The problem is, though, that I love ice cream a little too much – once I start eating it, especially on a hot day, I pretty much can’t stop myself from devouring it. Self control is not my strong suit. After speaking to my sister several days ago, she mentioned that she’d been freezing fruit and blending it to create creamy, guilt-free desserts for the stifling evenings. What could be better? I was intrigued.

I must confess that in my hurry to try this out, I didn’t bother pre-freezing the fruit before blending it. If you want an intensely creamy dessert, I’d suggest the pre-freezing. However, the final result without the frozen fruit was still lovely. It ended up being somewhere in between ice cream and sorbet in texture, which was actually lovely on a boiling hot night, as the slight iciness gave it a refreshing edge and ever so slight crunch.

This is probably the easiest “ice cream” in the entire world, as well as being among the healthiest. It has only two ingredients and is sugar-free, dairy-free, gluten-free and egg-free. Literally ANYONE can make and eat this – you don’t even need an ice cream maker. And the best part of having a super-healthy dessert in the freezer? You can chow on it at any time of day without worrying about it going straight to your thighs. Winner!

BANANA & MANGO “ICE CREAM”

4 large, ripe bananas

2 large ripe mangoes

If you’re after a super-creamy product, peel and roughly chop the bananas and mangoes (removing the stones from the mangoes) and freeze overnight in a container. Otherwise, simply peel roughly chop the fruit and use it fresh if you’d prefer a slightly more sorbet-like result.

Place fruit pieces in a food processor ( a blender would also do nicely) and process for around 2 minutes, or until completely smooth. The consistency of the mixture should resemble a thick soup.

LineĀ  a shallow, freezer-safe container (I used a relatively shallow square ceramic dish) with plastic wrap, which will make it easier to remove “ice cream” in the next step. Pour the blended fruit mixture into the lined container and place in the freezer for 2 hours.

After 2 hours, remove the container from the freezer – the sides of the mixture should be starting to freeze. Place fruit mixture back into the food processer and process again for 1 – 2 minutes. If you’re planning on removing the finished “ice cream” from the freezer container onto a nicer serving dish, then re-line the container with plastic wrap at this point before pouring the mixture back into the container to make removal easier. Otherwise, simply pour the blended fruit back into the freezer container.

Freeze for 2 -3 hours until firm.

Remove from the freezer 15 minutes prior to serving to soften. If you used pre-frozen fruit, use an ice cream scoop to serve. If you used fresh fruit, cut into rough chunks and serve.

Enjoy!

6 Responses to “Banana & Mango “Ice Cream””

  1. Kate Middlesex January 12, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    LIked the idea. Though mango is probably less common in Massachusetts than in Australia and bananas are imported as well, still the components are available. Have you tried adding whipped cream to make it more like ice real cream than sorbet? I’ll try and let you know how it worked out!

    • Jess - cloudberrydreams January 12, 2012 at 11:10 am #

      I suppose that because it’s winter for you that probably doesn’t help with the banana & mango availability! :)

      I’ve not tried adding whipped cream (I thought in the week or two after Christmas I’d at least ATTEMPT to eat healthily, haha!), but I might just try it out! I actually re-made this by freezing the fruit first the other day, and I was shocked by how creamy frozen bananas actually become when they’re chucked in a blender/food processor. I’ll definitely be pre-freezing the fruit from now on!

      • Kate Middlesex January 12, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

        Its always winter here except for dry spell in July-August (and it’s dark from November and till we get snow, which we still don’t have this year).

        Actually, I recently made some vegan friends so you recipe without my alteration comes handy. Will try it soon.

        But I insist whipped cream version is healthy too. The food you cook is 100 times healthier than bought processed food :)

      • Jess - cloudberrydreams January 13, 2012 at 1:04 am #

        I had no idea it was cold for so much of the year in Massachusetts! I knew it snowed in the winter, but I figured the weather would be nicer during the rest of the year!

        And I totally agree with you. I’m shying away from processed food more and more. At least when you cook and bake from scratch you know exactly what’s in it. :)

      • Kate Middlesex January 13, 2012 at 1:12 am #

        Well, I’m exaggerating a bit re weather :)
        It’s really nice here in September-October and than – I hope it’s true for 2012 – it starts being nice in April but may as well rain a lot till the end of June.

        Just found strawberry mousse I put into the fridge some time ago – after defreezing it in refrigerator it tastes really tender and light (strawberries blended with whipped cream & a little sugar).

      • Jess - cloudberrydreams January 13, 2012 at 1:16 am #

        Yum, that sounds SO good! Even though it’s after 1am here and I probably shouldn’t be thinking about food, haha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

